Wednesday , March 27 2019
Home / News / Society / Lifestyle / Greece sets clocks one hour back early morning Sunday, Oct 28

Greece sets clocks one hour back early morning Sunday, Oct 28

Wintertime: Greeks will set their clocks one hour back in the night from Saturday to Sunday, October 27th to 28th 2018. This may be the penultimate time they do so, should the European Union to implement its decision to scrap the twice per year adjustment to save energy in 2019.

Clocks in Greece will be set back one hour at 4 o’ clock Sunday morning.

A survey conducted by the EU Commission in summer revealed that 80% of EU citizens wants the end of the practice to switch between winter and daylight saving time twice a year.

“They want the summer time for all seasons and so will happen,” EU Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker had said.

84% of a total of 4.6 million participants from 28 EU member states said they wanted to abolish the switching twice a year. It the highest number of responses ever received in any Commission public consultation, the Commission said in a statement.

Poll run on KTG website: results so far

European Parliament members voted 384 to 153 in a non-binding resolution and urged the European Commission to carry out a “thorough assessment” of the daylight saving time (DST) arrangements for summer time and, if necessary “come up with a proposal for its revision.”

Any change would still need approval from national governments and European Parliament to become law.

In the last twenty years, EU law requires that citizens in all 28 EU countries move their clocks an hour forward on the last Sunday in March and switch back to winter time on the final Sunday in October.

“The purpose of EU rules was not to harmonise the time regime in the EU but to address the problems, notably for the transport and logistics sectors, which arise from an uncoordinated application of clock-changes in the course of the year,” the commission said in a statement.

“In parallel to the daylight saving time arrangement in the European Union, the Member States apply three different time zones or standard times. The decision on the standard time is a national competence,” the statement added.

Outside the EU, a handful of European countries have stopped switching between summer and winter time, including Russia, Turkey, Belarus and Iceland.

According to the original EU plan, the end of daylight saving switching should go into effect for the last time in October 2019.

In March 2019, countries that decided for permanent summer time will change their clocks for the last time.

Countries that decide for permanent winter time will switch their clocks for the last time on the last Sunday of October.

According to media information countries that want:

permanent summer time: Germany, Poland, Cyprus, the Baltic States

permanent winter time: France, Spain, Netherlands, Denmark, Finland

both ie switching: Greece, Portugal

A meeting of EU ministers on the issue is scheduled for Monday, Oct 29,2018.

Check Also

US President Donald Trump and Melania on private trip to Patras

US President Donald Trump and wife Melania took a break from head-aching policies and charities …