Tuesday , March 21 2023
Home / FEATURED / Ten EU countries agree to take 400 unaccompanied minors from Moria

Ten EU countries agree to take 400 unaccompanied minors from Moria

Ten EU member states have agreed to take the 400 unaccompanied minors form the burned down camp in Moria. Germany and France will take the majority of them, each 100-150, German state broadcaster reported on Friday.

The countries that will take the refugee children are: Germany, France, Finland, Luxembourg, Slovenia, The Netherlands, Croatia, Portugal, Belgium, Switzerland.

406 minors were flown to northern Greece on Thursday from the island of Lesvos. They are currently hosted in several hotels until their future is being decided.

German Chancellor Angela Merkel announced on Thursday, that Germany and France were launching an initiative for the reception of unaccompanied refugee minors that lived at the Moria hotspot prior to the devastating fire that destroyed the camp there over the last couple of days.

 “Germany and France will surely join, and I hope other EU member states join too,” said Merkel. 

The Chancellor estimated that the Moria tragedy should propel EU countries to “finally reach a common migration policy.”

She stressed that “Basically there is no such thing as a common European migration policy.“

PS Austria that proclaims to stand by Greece on the Migration issue is not among these countries that accept refugee minors. Vienna’s policy is clear: We could help as long as the refugees and asylum-seekers remain stuck in Greece.

Check Also

Stournaras: Greek banks’ exposure to Credit Suisse “almost zero”

The exposure of Greek banks to Credit Suisse is “almost zero,” Greek central bank chief …