Friday , July 19 2024
Home / News / CORONAVIRUS / 5 Greeks in quarantine due to Omicron variant; Emergency travel directive south African countries(Notam)

5 Greeks in quarantine due to Omicron variant; Emergency travel directive south African countries(Notam)

Five Greek citizens, who arrived το Athens from south African countries, have been placed on a ten-day precautionary quarantine, according to the new protocol due to Covid-19 Omicron variant. The five citizens, all sailors, came from south Africa and Zimbabwe via a stopover in the United Arab Emirates.

Upon arrival, they were tested negative for Covid-19, state-run news agency amna reported on Saturday. However, they were quarantined as required by the new protocol due to the Omicron mutation of the coronavirus, which emerged in southern Africa, and are staying in a quarantine hotel in south Athens.

None of the five sailors has any symptoms.

The passengers will undergo a molecular diagnostic test (PCR) after ten days and if the result is negative their quarantine will end.

On Saturday, Greece’s Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) issued an emergency flight NOTAM for travelers from 9 South African countries: Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

According to the travel directive, only Greek nationals as well as other travelers from the above countries traveling for essential reasons are allowed in Greece, on the condition of three negative tests irrespective of their vaccination status.

Travelers from these countries must obtain a special entry permit by competent Greek diplomatic authorities in the departure country.

All passengers are subjected to a rapid test upon arrival and a 10-day quarantine at a space designated by authorities. Their release from quarantine is contingent upon a negative PCR test. Exempt from the above are children under 12.

The NOTAM is valid until 6:00 a.m., December 3, 2021.

There are no direct flights from the above 9 countries to Greece.

Meanwhile, the CAA has extended the travel Covid-19 requirements for EU and non-EU nationals until December 31, 2021.

Check Also

Ursula von der Leyen re-elected President of the European Commission

The European Parliament has confirmed Ursula von der Leyen for a second term as President …