Tuesday , March 28 2023
Home / News / Politics / Greece / New Greek Parliament sworn-in in a religious ceremony

New Greek Parliament sworn-in in a religious ceremony

The Greek Parliament that emerged form the elections on July 7, was sworn in on Wednesday morning. 300 lawmakers received the blessing of the Church, Archbishop of Athens and All Greece, Ieronymos, and members of the Holy Synod.

The lawmakers took a religious or political oath, while the three Muslim MPs, took an oath to the Koran.

The swear-in ceremony was chaired by the SYRIZA MP and deputy Parliament Speaker of the previous government.

The new Parliament consists of six parties for the first time since several decades.

The Parliament has 61 women  and 112 MPs were elected for the first time.

Of the 300 seats, New Democracy has 158, SYRIZA 86, KINAL/PASOK 22, KKE 15, “Greek Solution” 10 and “MEPA25” 9.

Relatives and friends of the MPs had filled the visitors’ loges.

After the swearing-in ceremony, the interim Parliament Speaker called on MPs to elect the new Speaker of Parliament tomorrow, Thursday, 18 July.

New Democracy has announced that it will Konstantinos Tasoulas for this position.

Check Also

Cyprus not bound by Greece’s decision to support Turkey’s IMO candidacy

Cyprus said new efforts by Greece and Turkey to improve their relations is positive, but …