Tuesday , July 23 2024
Home / Travel / Tourism / Greece extends UK & Turkey flight ban, entry ban to non-EU nationals

Greece extends UK & Turkey flight ban, entry ban to non-EU nationals

Greece’s Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has extended the flight ban from/to Turkey and UK as well as the entrance of non-EU nationals. In a statement issued late on Monday, June 15, the CAA listed also the flight departure countries whose passengers must undergo COVID-19 testing upon their arrival at the Greek airports.

The CAA air instructions (Notams) refer to the period June 15-30, 2020, and “with the aim of protecting passengers and citizens from the COVID-19 pandemic.”

Suspension of all passenger flights to and from Greece with the United Kingdom and Turkey will be extended until June 30, 2020 at 23:59.

The temporary ban on non-Europeans entering the country remains in force this month.

The specific air instructions concern all the airports of our country, the CAA notes.

* From today, Monday 15/6, only the airports of Athens “Eleftherios Venizelos” and of Thessaloniki “Macedonia” accept flights from abroad.

Athens Eleftherios Venizelos Airport: All passengers from Albania, Belgium, France, Italy, Northern Macedonia, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden will be tested.

Passengers from other European destinations will be randomly assigned to test samples.

Thessaloniki “Macedonia” Airport: Airport maintains temporary suspension of flights from nine (9) countries (Albania, Belgium, France, Italy, Northern Macedonia, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden), until Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 23:00 : 59.

COVID-19 test is provided for all passengers arriving at Thessaloniki Airport in accordance with the guidelines of the Ministry of Health, EODY and Civil Protection.

For the rest of the country’s regional airports, the ban on foreign flights until the end of June applies.

Temporary flight bans exclude cargo flights, sanitary, humanitarian, aircraft return flights only with its crew (ferry flights), state flights, flights in a state of emergency (emergency), military flights (these flights are not valid for Turkey), Frontex flights, fire fighting flights, flights that have technical failure without that it is necessary to disembark passengers (technical landings), support flights of the National Health System of  Greece and repatriation flights of Greek Citizens.

The following exemptions also apply to temporary entry bans for non-European countries: Members of European Citizens’ families, citizens of Schengen countries, health personnel, third-country nationals who have a long-term visa in a European country and Schengen Diplomatic Country, government, government military, humanitarian personnel, aircraft crews and those non-European citizens who have obtained a permit to travel from the Greek Consulate.

CAA statement in Greek here.

More information on travel to Greece during the pandemic here.

Check Also

US tourist missing on Mathraki island; Belgian hiker dead in Crete

A 55-year-old tourist from the USA went missing on the small island of Mathraki, north …

One comment

  1. Serbian only non EU citizens that can enter Greece….