Monday , May 29 2023
Home / News / Politics / Greece / Greek Parliament ratifies EEZ agreements with Italy and Egypt

Greek Parliament ratifies EEZ agreements with Italy and Egypt

The Greek Parliament ratified the Greece-Egypt agreement on the Exclusive Economic Zone between the two countries was with a majority of 178 MPs from New Democracy and Movement for Change (KINAL) on Thursday evening.

26 MPs from the Greek Communist Party, the Greek Solution and MeRA25 voted down the agreement, while a total of 81 Syriza MPs voted ‘present’ in the proceedings.

Another 15 MPs were absent, including 2 from New Democracy and 5 from Syriza, who in letters said they would have voted their parties’ position on the matter had they been present.

The roll-call vote on the ratification of the EEZ agreement with Egypt was requested by main opposition party SYRIZA for Article 2 on the demarcation of territories.

The delimitation of the Exclusive Economic Zones of Greece-Italy, was approved late on Wednesday by an increased parliament majority. 

New Democracy (ND), SYRIZA and KINAL supported in principle the ratification of the agreement between the Hellenic Republic and the Italian Republic for the delimitation of their respective maritime zones, while KKE, Elliniki Lysi and MeRA25 voted against.

Check Also

Brussels prosecutors remove e-bracelet from Eva Kaili

Prosecuting authorities in Brussels on Thursday confirmed the decision to remove the electronic bracelet monitoring …