Tuesday , September 26 2023
Home / News / CORONAVIRUS / Greece’s official travel rules: PCR/RAPID test for all Dec 19-Jan 10

Greece’s official travel rules: PCR/RAPID test for all Dec 19-Jan 10

Greece published in the Official Gazette the new travel rules that make mandatory Covid-19 test for entry in the country over the Christmas and holiday season. The conditions for mandatory PCR or RAPID test are valid from Sunday, 19. December 2021, until 10. January 2022.

According to the decision published in the Official Gazette on Friday morning (Dec 17) these are the travel rules for all travelers from abroad, whether they are vaccinated or not or they have recovered from Covid-19 illness..

The new regulations stipulate a 72-hour molecular PCR test or a 24-hour Rapid Test is required to enter Greece.

Tests results must be from officially registered laboratories and the certificates in Greek, English, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Russian. Certificates must include the name of the person as indicated on the passport.

The control of the traveler before boarding is the responsibility of the air, shipping, railway companies, as well as the road transport companies. Companies must confirm that the traveler has all the necessary documents.

The measure is mandatory for every traveler above 5 years old.

Travelers to Greece who are diagnosed positive for coronavirus and are unvaccinated are subject to temporary restriction, that is quarantine at home or at a suitable place of temporary residence designated by the competent authorities, for ten days,

Those who have completed the vaccination fourteen days earlier and are diagnosed positive are placed in a temporary quarantine for seven days.

All passengers to Greece independently of nationality and entry point must fill the PLF (Passenger Locator Form) at website: https://travel.gov.gr.

Due to the new Omicron variant, sea connections with Turkey are temporarily limited, while the fullness of the ships that operate the routes Greece-Italy and Greece-Albania is reduced.

Allowed into the country are permanent residents of the EU and the Schengen area as well as residents of the following non-EU countries:

Azerbaijan, Albania, Andorra, Argentina,
Armenia, Australia, Vatican, North Macedonia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, United Kingdom, Japan, India, Jordan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China, “Chinese Taiwan”, Kosovo Kuwait,
Belarus, Lebanon, Montenegro, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Bahrain, Brunei, New Zealand, South
Korea, San Marino, Ukraine, Uruguay, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Oman, Turkey, Chile.

There are Covid-tests for residents of several countries upon their arrival in Greece.

sources in Greek: amna, officialgazette

Greece created lots of confusion in the last 36 hours as it modified the new rules at least four times via statements to the press.

Check Also

Apolitical Stefanos Kasselakis is the new leader of left-wing SYRIZA

Stefanos Kasselakis won the leadership of left-wing SYRIZA with 56.91% of the elections votes on …